Mandatory Insurance Coverage
Minimum insurance coverage for Georgia is:
• $25,000 bodily injury for one person in one accident
• $50,000 for two or more persons in one accident
• $25,000 property damage incurred in one accident
Need help with you special insurance situation? Let Barnes and Howell navigate getting you the coverage you need.
When a driver has several violations like reckless driving, driving under the influence, at fault accidents or driving without insurance, Georgia requires proof of financial responsibility in the form of SR-22 or SR-22A insurance.
An SR-22 Form Filing is an endorsement that is added to an Auto Insurance Policy that informs the Department of Motor Vehicles that you are now in compliance with the state's minimum requirements for auto insurance. The primary reason an SR-22 Filing is ordered is due to the driver's already having been convicted of a failure to maintain Auto Insurance as required by law. It can also be required after certain other traffic related offenses such as DUI's, DWI's and other serious traffic violations involving negligence or severe endangerment of other drivers or pedestrians.
If your SR-22 endorsed Auto Insurance Policy cancels, lapses or expires for any reason, The Insurer is required by law to send an SR-26 Filing to the state DMV notifying them that you are once again no longer in compliance with the state’s Financial Responsibility laws. After an SR-26 filing, the state can then suspend your drivers license. You will likely then have to find another or the same insurer that is willing to issue an SR-22 Filing to have your license reinstated.
The purpose of an SR-22 Filing is to prove to the state that you are now in compliance with the state’s Financial Responsibility Requirements. An SR-22 Filing is generally required after a driver has already been cited for driving without the minimum state required liability coverage. The filing of an SR-22 will also allow your license to be reinstated after a suspension or will prevent the suspension from occurring if filed within 30 days of an SR-22 filing being ordered by your state.
Your SR-22 remains active until your state determines it can be removed. You may need to keep your SR-22 active for 36 months, or it could be a different time period - we can help with the details.
Once you're no longer required to maintain your SR-22, you simply notify your insurance company to file the paperwork — generally an SR-26 form — to cancel it. Your insurance company may require you to provide proof that the SR-22 requirement has been lifted, but filing the paperwork should be fairly simple. Barnes and Howell can help you with all the details in obtaining the proper insurance including SR-22 and SR-22A.